TheNewspaper.com: Driving Politics
Home >Miscellaneous Issues > Privacy Issues > Illinois: Bill Would Open Teen Driving Records to Parents 
Print It Email It Tweet It

4/26/2007
Illinois: Bill Would Open Teen Driving Records to Parents
The Illinois state legislature advances legislation to restrict the ability of teenagers to drive.

Illinois state capital
The Illinois state legislature is advancing a number of measures to restrict the ability of teenagers to drive. A proposal to give parents online access to the driving records of their teenage children cleared the state House in 114-0 vote last month. The state Senate Transportation Committee postponed action on the bill yesterday.

The online reports available to parents under the legislation include whether a motorist under the age of 18 has refused a breath alcohol test, had a license suspended or received a citation for a moving traffic violation.

A broader bill including a number of new teen driving restrictions passed the state Senate 54-2 last month. It is currently before the state House Rules Committee. SB 172 would raise of the driving curfew age from 17 to 18. This forbids anyone under 18 from driving between 11pm and 6am unless he is driving to work, church or "exercising First Amendment rights protected by the United States Constitution, such as the free exercise of religion, freedom of speech, and the right of assembly." For drivers of all age, police may confiscate for five days a vehicle whose driver is merely accused of street racing.

The state House passed a third bill with a 74-39 vote last month to require young motorists with learner's permits to display large "student driver" stickers on any vehicle they drive.

Article Excerpt:
HB 518 Engrossed

AN ACT concerning transportation.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Illinois, represented in the General Assembly:

Section 5. The Illinois Vehicle Code is amended by changing Sections 2-123, 6-204, 11-501.1, and 11-501.8 as follows:

...
The Secretary of State may, without fee, allow a parent or guardian of a person under the age of 18 years, who holds an instruction permit or graduated driver's license, to view that person's driving record online, through a computer connection. The parent or guardian's online access to the driving record will terminate when the instruction permit or graduated driver's license holder reaches the age of 18.

...
These reports received by the Secretary of State, including those required to be forwarded under paragraph (a)(4), shall be privileged information, available only (i) to the affected driver, (ii) to the parent or guardian of a person under the age of 18 years holding an instruction permit or a graduated driver's license, and (iii) (ii) for use by the courts, police officers, prosecuting authorities, and the Secretary of State.
....
Reports received by the Secretary of State under this Section shall also be made available to the parent or guardian of a person under the age of 18 years that holds an instruction permit or a graduated driver's license, regardless of whether the statutory summary suspension is in effect.
...
Section 99. Effective date. This Act takes effect January 1, 2008.


HB0408 Engrossed

AN ACT concerning transportation.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Illinois, represented in the General Assembly:

Section 5. The State Finance Act is amended by adding Sections 5.675 and 6z-69 as follows:

(30 ILCS 105/5.675 new)
Sec. 5.675. The Safe Student Driver Initiative Fund.

(30 ILCS 105/6z-69 new)
Sec. 6z-69. The Safe Student Driver Initiative Fund. The Safe Student Driver Initiative Fund is created as a special fund in the State treasury. The Secretary of State shall, subject to appropriation, use all moneys in the Safe Student Driver Initiative Fund to cover all costs associated with the manufacture, distribution, and administration of Student Driver signs and any other costs associated with the Graduated Licensing Program.
...
(h) A person holding a graduated driver's license under this Section must display on any vehicle he or she is driving a sign or signs, approved by the Secretary of State, indicating that the vehicle is being driven by a new driver.

The Secretary shall adopt rules for implementing this subsection (h). The rules shall address, among other issues, the issue of whether a fee shall be charged for obtaining the sign or signs and the amount of the fee, if any.
...
8. $2 of the $22 fee for an original driver's instruction permit issued to persons under the age of 18 shall be paid into The Safe Student Driver Initiative Fund.


Related News
Researchers Find Speed Cameras Vulnerable To Hacking

Virginia: Insurance Industry Photographs 65,000 Motorists In Speeding Ticket Push

New Hampshire Backs Down On Driver Privacy

New York: E-ZPass Used To Spy On Motorists

Redflex App Monitors Motorists




View Main Topics:

Get Email Updates
Subscribe with Google
Subscribe via RSS or E-Mail

Back To Front Page


Front Page | Get Updates | Site Map | News Archive | Search | RSS Feed
TheNewspaper.com: Driving politics
TheNewspaper.com